Water Polo

Water Polo was established at Sacred Heart College in 1983 by Chris Hayward comprising of just two teams. Since then Water Polo has been widely recognised as a Premier sport at the College and Sacred Heart has won eleven Premier Boys' National titles (1986, '87, '88, '90, 2004, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018 and 2019), as well as captured numerous Auckland and North Island championships at both Junior and Senior levels. 

At the conclusion of the 2020 season, Sacred Heart College held Championship titles across all grades:

  • Premier Team – Auckland Champions and winners of the Chris Hayward Invitational Tournament (in lieu of Nationals)
  • Premier Development (Senior A) team – Auckland Champions
  • Sacred A team (Year 9 & 10) – Auckland Champions and North Island Champions
  • Year 7 & 8 Sharks team – winners of the Tim Sonderer Memorial Trophy and North Island Champions.

The success and consistency of Water Polo at Sacred Heart is largely due to the Sports Institute programme, accessibility to the Sacred Heart Aquatic Centre which opened in 2000, access to quality coaches and a strong Water Polo community which is made up of players, Old Boys, teachers, parents and extended families. 

Sacred Heart College has created many National Representatives at Senior Men’s level as well as athletes who have gone on to play overseas.

Water Polo is played year round, depending on the age level - Senior teams play in Term 1, Year 7 & 8 teams in Terms 2 and 3, and Junior teams play in Term 4. Games take place on Friday evenings and senior teams also playing some Sunday afternoons.